Kyle Busch Wins 2021 Busch Clash at Daytona

           The Busch Clash was only a short 35 lap race, but it took all 35 laps to crown the champion. Run-on the Daytona International Speedway road course, the Busch Clash featured 21 drivers who had met the qualifications of…

–      Winning one of the five Busch Pole Awards in 2020

–      Winning a previous Busch Clash and racing full time in 2020

–      Winning a Daytona 500 and racing full time in 2020

–      Any Daytona 500 Busch Pole Award Winner racing full time in 2020

–      2020 Playoff Drivers

–      2020 Race Winners

–      2020 Stage winners

The racing was tight as drivers worked their breaks, resulting in every car having bright orange rotors inside their wheels. Entering the final corner, the race was between Ryan Blaney and Chase Elliot, with Kyle Busch being in a distant third place. Blaney left a little bit of room for Elliot to stick his nose into the inside of the corner. Still, then exiting the corner, Elliot got into the side of Blaney, spinning him out and slowing Elliot down significantly. As a result, Kyle Busch was able to execute a perfect final turn, passing the turned around Blaney and accelerating Elliot and win the race. The video below shows the entire final lap of the clash. To watch the spin, skip to 2:00. We also posted the unofficial final results below!

1K. Busch Toyota·#18
2C. Elliott Chevrolet·#9
3J. Logano Ford·#22
4T. Reddick Chevrolet·#8
5W. Byron Chevrolet·#24
6D. Hamlin Toyota·#11
7A. Bowman Chevrolet·#48
8E. Jones Chevrolet·#43
9R. Stenhouse Jr. Chevrolet·#47
10M. DiBenedetto Ford·#21
11A. Dillon Chevrolet·#3
12A. Almirola Ford·#10
13R. Blaney Ford·#12
14R. Newman Ford·#6
15K. Harvick Ford·#4
16C. Buescher Ford·#17
17B. Keselowski Ford·#2
18T. Dillon Toyota·#23
19K. Busch Chevrolet·#1
20C. Custer Ford·#41
21M. Truex Jr. Toyota·#19

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: